Halasyamani Research Group

Group Members & Alumni

Post-Doctoral Associates

            <h2>Dr. Mingli Liang</h2>        
    <h4>Ph.D. 2021 Technical University of Denmark (DTU): <a href="mailto:&#x6d;&#108;&#x69;&#97;&#110;&#x67;&#x34;&#x40;&#x63;&#101;&#110;&#x74;&#114;&#x61;&#108;&#x2e;&#117;&#104;&#46;&#x65;&#100;&#x75;">&#109;&#x6c;&#105;&#x61;&#110;&#x67;&#52;&#x40;&#x63;&#101;&#110;&#116;&#x72;&#97;&#x6c;&#46;&#117;&#x68;&#x2e;&#x65;&#100;&#x75;</a> <br><br> Mingli Liang received his M.Sc. in 2017, and was jointly trained by Fuzhou University and Fujian Institute of Material Structure, CAS. During this period, he worked in Prof. Jianggao Mao’s group, mainly engaged in the exploration of new NLO materials based on selenites and tellurites. He completed his Ph.D. at Technical University of Denmark (DTU) in 2021, studying the correlating structure and photophysics in metal halide perovskites. In January 2022, he joined the Prof. Halasyamani’s group, and is determined to make a breakthrough in deep-UV NLO materials. Mingli loves to travel, discover beautiful natural scenery. However, when he is at home, he is usually playing games.</h4>


Dr. Ce Tao

Ph.D. Technical Institute of Physics and Chemistry, CAS 2020: ctao4@central.uh.edu

Ce joined Prof. Halasyamani’s group in February 2022 as a postdoctoral fellow. His research involves the synthesis, crystal growth, and characterization of new functional inorganic materials. He received his Ph.D. from Technical Institute of Physics and Chemistry, CAS. During his Ph.D., he worked on the synthesis of Tb-based oxide materials and single crystal growth using the TSSG method.


Mr. Ievgen Izvari

East Ukrainian National University: iizvarin@central.uh.edu

Ievgen Izvarin graduated in 1999 from the Volodymyr Dahl East Ukrainian National University. He joined the Halasyamani group in September 2022 with 15 years’ experience in designing a wide range of crystal growing equipment. Ievgen handles Czochralski, Kyropoulos and EFG crystal growing methods for semiconductors and oxides materials. His research involves high-temperature and rare-earth oxides

Undergraduate Students


Visiting Scholars

Prof. Tongqing Sun (2017-2018)
Dr. Tongqing Sun is an Associate Professor at Nankai University - http://physics.nankai.edu.cn/wlxyen/2017/1118/c7774a82875/page.htm.

Prof. Yanjun Li (2017-2018)
Dr. Yanjun Li is an Associate Professor at Wuhan University of Science and Technology.

Prof. Lei Geng: (2016-2017)
Dr. Lei Geng is an Associate Professor at Huaibei Normal University.

Prof. Hongping Wu (2016-2017)
Dr. Hongping Wu is an Associate Professor at Xinjiang Technical Institute of Physics & Chemistry of CAS, China.

Graduate Students

Kang-Min Ok: Ph.D. 2003, Post-doc 2004-2006
Professor, Department of Chemistry, Chung-Ang University - http://inmatchem.cau.ac.kr/index.php?mid=Professor

Yetta Eagleman: Ph.D. 2003
Senior Chemist - Day and Zimmermann, Texarkana

Dr. Tianxiang Zhu (Sept. ‘08 - Sept. ‘09):
Vice-General Manager, Areospace Hi-Tech Holding Group Co., Hubei, China

Hong-Young Chang: Ph.D. 2009
Assistant Professor, Sul Ross State University - https://www.sulross.edu/faculty-and-staff/3756/assistant-professor-chemistry

Jaewook Baek: M.S. 2009
Chief Chemist ExperTox Inc., Houston, TX

Jeongho Yeon: Ph.D. 2011
Senior Process Development Engineer, Coherent Corp., NJ - https://www.linkedin.com/pub/jeongho-yeon/21/39/109
Jeongho.Yeon@coherent.com yeonj8305@gmail.com

Sau Doan Nguyen: Ph.D. 2012
Post-doctoral Associate - University of Northern Colorado (Prof. Robin Macaluso)

HaNa Lee: M.S. May 2013
LG Chemicals, Korea

Sun Woo Kim: Ph.D. 2014
Assistant Professor, Chosun University, Korea

Thanh Thao Tran: Ph.D. 2015
Assistant Professor, Department of Chemistry, Clemson University

Meng Shang: Ph.D. 2020
Post-doctoral Associate, University of Houston (Prof. Yan Yao)

Post-Doctoral Associates

Dr. N.S.P. Bhuvanesh (Sept. ‘99 - Aug. ‘01):
Powder Diffraction Manager - Texas A&M University - http://xray.tamu.edu/people.php: xray@tamu.edu

Dr. Zhong-le Huang (April ‘01 - April ‘02):
Research Scientist, Christian-Albrechts- University Kiel

Dr. Joanna Goodey-Pellois (Sept. ‘01 - July ‘02):
Senior Lecturer - Associate Graduate Advisor, Department of Chemistry, Texas A&M University - http://www.chem.tamu.edu/faculty/faculty_detail.php?ID=1495

Dr. Lei Zhang (June ‘02 - May ‘04):
Research Scientist, Peking University

Dr. Oya Gokcen (Jan. ‘03 - Jan. ‘04):
Research Scientist, Space Vacuum Epitaxy Center, University of Houston

Dr. Ranbo Yu (Feb. ‘03 - Feb. ‘04):
Professor, Department of Physical Chemistry, University of Science and Technology, Beijing, 30 Xuryuan Road, Beijing 100083, China, +86 (010) 62332525

Dr. Eunok Chi (April ‘03 - March ‘06):
DC Chemical Company, Seoul, Korea

Dr. T. Sivakumar (August ‘04 - March ‘07):
Post-doctoral Associate, Tokyo Institute of Technology

Dr. Jun Ho Kim (June ‘06 - June ‘08):
DC Chemical Company, Seoul, Korea

Dr. Sang-Hwan Kim (Feb. ‘08 - June ‘11):
Senior Research Chemist, Central Research & Development, E. I. du Pont de Nemours and Company, Inc., Wilmington, DE, USA

Dr. Elise Pachoud (Jan. ‘12 - June ‘13):
Research Engineer in Crystal Growth, Institut Néel, CNRS Grenoble

Dr. Hongwei Yu (Sept. ‘14 - Feb. ‘17):
Professor, Tianjin Key Laboratory of Functional Crystal Materials, Institute of Functional Crystal, Tianjin University of Technology

Dr. Lili Liu (Sept. ‘17 - Aug. ‘19):
Research Scientist, Xinjiang Institute of Physics and Chemistry, CAS

Dr. Weiguo Zhang (July ‘09 - Aug. ‘20):
Senior Scientist, Actinia, https://actiniadetectors.com

Please e-mail psh@uh.edu with any updates.